mta header



MTA has divided the 16-mile Purple Line corridor into eight areas, each to be represented by a Community Advisory Team (CAT). The MTA and Concessionaire have committed to maintaining open dialogue with the communities surrounding the Purple Line via CATs with the objective of building a long-term relationship through completion of the project. The CATs are member-driven teams with representatives appointed from neighborhood and civic associations adjacent to the alignment. There are also representatives from business associations and local governments.

Please click here to see the current CATs meeting schedule.


These Community Advisory Teams (CATs) are intended to:

  • Promote two-way information sharing between MTA/Concessionaire and community
  • Offer a forum for residents and other community stakeholders to engage in open dialogue with MTA /Concessionaire project staff
  • Serve as an organized, results-oriented vehicle for identifying and addressing area-specific issues and concerns related to MTA’s Purple Line
  • Provide accountability for follow-up actions agreed upon by MTA/Concessionaire and community


The eight CAT areas are:

  1. Bethesda/Chevy Chase: Bethesda to Rock Creek Park
    (Bethesda & Connecticut Ave Stations)
  2. Greater Lyttonsville/Woodside: Rock Creek Park to Woodside Station
    (Lyttonsville & Woodside/16th St Stations)
  3. Silver Spring: Spring Street to Wayne Avenue to Manchester Place Station
    (SS Transit Center, SS Library, Dale Drive Stations)
  4. Long Branch: Plymouth Tunnel to Carroll Avenue
    (Manchester Place , Long Branch and Piney Branch Road Stations)
  5. University Boulevard: Carroll Avenue to Adelphi Road
    (Takoma/Langley Transit Center and Riggs Rd Stations)
  6. College Park/M Square: Adelphi Road to River Road/Kenilworth Avenue
    (Adelphi Rd/West Campus, UM Campus Center, East Campus, College Park and M Square Stations)
  7. Riverdale Park: Kenilworth Avenue, Riverdale Road, to Beacon Heights Station
    (Riverdale Park and Beacon Heights Stations)
  8. Glenridge/New Carrollton: Veterans Parkway, Ellin Road to New Carrollton
    (Annapolis Rd/Glenridge and New Carrollton Stations)